Expelled from Preschool

‘Just read an MSN story about kids getting expelled from preschools. I admit I hadn’t thought about this problem. My youngest child has ADHD with Impulsivity so we’ve had similar struggles. Last year, when he was in 4th grade, he lost his school bus riding privileges for several months because he couldn’t control his behavior. The impact was harder on me and my schedule than him.

My advice? Reduce the stress in your kids’ lives. Downscale their after-school and weekend schedules. Kids need downtime. “I’m bored” is not all bad – it means that they’re not overscheduled. Make sure they get enough sleep, even if it seems too early to send them to bed. Breathe – and hug your kids!

1 Comment

Filed under work-life balance, working mothers, working parents

One response to “Expelled from Preschool

  1. My son Ben was expelled from The Pines preschool way back when ( Ben is 32, owns a tech company and is highly successful and still very impatient.) He couldn’t participate in the graduation cermony and it crushed me more than it did him. He was on the slide waiting for a boy to slide down when the bell rang and the slider wanted off the slide ( going down the steps) and Ben bit him encouraging him to slide down so he could get in his last slide. Ben is still very impatient as for the biting, that was the only time he bit someone to my knowledge. I’ll give him a call and ask him how his biting issues are going.
    Karen McCullough
    http://www.karenmccullough.com

Leave a Reply

