“Hug Your Kids” says Cincinnati Reds Baseball Manager Dusty Baker about Adenhart

The Cincinnati Reds showed Nick Adenhart’s photo on the video board and asked fans to stand and remove their hats for a moment of silence in his memory before the seventh-inning stretch during their game against the New York Mets. “It makes you want to hug your kids. It just goes to show you, tomorrow’s not promised to anybody, so enjoy today,” Reds manager Dusty Baker said.

Adenhart was the 22-year-old rookie was among three people who died early Thursday after their car was struck by a motorist who ran a red light. He made his season debut a few hours earlier in a loss to Oakland. It was just the fourth start and appearance of his major league career.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to ““Hug Your Kids” says Cincinnati Reds Baseball Manager Dusty Baker about Adenhart

  1. I have two daughters (11 and 9) and I hug them everyday. Not surprising, the 11 year old is starting to think our hugs are corny. She’s almost a teenager she reminds me, and hugging your parents for no reason is not cool. My 9 year old is still at an age where hugs are cool and parents are still cool, sometimes.

    I hug my daughters to let them know how much I love them, as a matter of fact; we usually say I love you to each other out loud. I also hug them when I have had a tough day, because that hug reminds me of what’s important in life. I hug them when it appears they’re having a tough time or seem to be wavering in their confidence. I often will have my daughters hug each other when they can’t seem to get along (which they hate) and I will then have both of them hug the bad guy 🙂

    Most importantly I find myself hugging my daughters because I need it more than them, somehow it helps me believe I can keep them from growing up and shield them from life’s upsets.

Leave a Reply

