Hug Your Kids – Even Angry Teens Need Hugs

Even angry teens need a hug

Maybe especially angry teens. Actually, these girls were posing and cracked up right after I snapped this photo but it makes me laugh.

Parents of teens ask me all the time about hugging their teens. My answer, “Yes!” Of all the age groups, I think teens need hugs the most. They’re learning to drive, applying to college, starting to work, dating, and other stuff we don’t even know about. They need the physical reminders of  hugs that their moms and dads LOVE them and stand beside, behind and even in front of them.
Even though my 18-year old daughter is 6 feet tall, my husband and I like to give her a “sandwich hug” where we both hug her at the same time. It’s one part embarassment and one part comfort.
Got a teen? Hug them today!
2 Comments

Filed under dads, kids, parenting, work-life balance, working mothers, working parents

2 responses to “Hug Your Kids – Even Angry Teens Need Hugs

  1. Angry teens really need a hug from their parents. There’s a reason behind their anger and we parents should know and understand them.

  2. Agreed – but in this case, I know these girls and they were just being silly. Silly teens need hugs too!

Leave a Reply

