Hug Your Kids – Find a Way Even When it’s Difficult

Dad shares birthday cake and hugs with his kids

Tonight was my son’s 13th birthday. We adopted him when he was 4 1/2 years old, so it’s not a day for me to take any credit.

While I was buying him his first cell phone for his gift, somehow I bought myself an iPhone too.

My first email on my new iPhone? Some wisdom from my sweet husband:

If you really want to do something, you’ll find a way.
If you don’t, you’ll find an excuse.

So true! People ask me how to hug a loved one that’s far away, or a prickly teen, or someone who doesn’t like to be touched. They tell me they’ve just given up. Then I hear wonderful stories, about care packages sent, favorite sandwiches left in work trucks, and other examples of “hugs.” Find a way to hug the ones you love.

6 Comments

Filed under dads, hugs, kids, parenting, teens, work-life balance, working mothers, working parents

6 responses to “Hug Your Kids – Find a Way Even When it’s Difficult

  1. 5kidswdisabilities

    What lovely advice!!!!!

    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. Lindsey, Thanks. Sometimes the best advice comes from the most unlikely places, like our own family. Hugs to all five of your kids!

  3. Colleen Petrini

    Start your day and end it with a hug…everyday!

  4. Colleen,

    So true! It’s a simple plan, but not necessarily an easy one. It’s so easy to get so busy, and so tired, and so…full of excuses.

    No excuses – hug your loved ones every day.

  5. With todays ‘technology’ you can give anyone a hug. I will be giving my children / grnadchildren that live 1,500 miles away ‘hugs’ but emial, FB, texting. I will be giving those that live 5 miiles from me the smae hugs while I am out of town. IF you want to give a hug, you will find a way. Ready, set, HUG!!!!!!

  6. Maxine,
    So true! I posted this over a year ago, and technology has just gotten more complicated and more isolating. Hugs help bring families back together.

    I love what you said – Ready, Set, HUG!!! (Did I get enough exclamation points? ) 🙂

Leave a Reply

