Advice to Money Magazine Reader AR: Hug Your Kids

Just when I think I understand people pretty well, I come across an article and say, “Huh?”

In the April 2012 issue of Money magazine, in the Social Currency section, reader AR asks: When will my husband and I know we’re secure enough financially to have kids and provide for them?”

OK, I get it that kids cost a lot. I’m the mother of 3 children. But waiting for the perfect money moment to start this journey called parenthood is like finding the perfect pair of shoes and then waiting for them to go on sale and use a coupon. Sometimes, ya’ just gotta’ hold your breath and jump in the pool.

Some of the readers gave advice like: Unless you’re a millionaire, you’ll never be financially secure enough, and My advice: Have kids. Life is short. Enjoy.

My advice? Hugs are free. You don’t have to wait until you have 6 months of salary saved, or whatever the rule-of-thumb is to start your family. Hug your kids. Hug your honey. Hug, hug, hug.

You can probably read the article at www.cnnmoney.com
You can definitely learn more about Global Hug Your Kids Day at www.hugyourkidsday.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

